Chiefs of State and Heads of Government
Political Weekly


Foreign Affairs




Banque Africaine de Developpement

see (AfDB) African Development Bank


Banque Arabe de Developpement Economique en Afrique

see (ABEDA) Arab Bank for Economic Development in Africa


Central American Bank for Economic Integration (established - 13 December 1960)

note - acronym from Banco Centroamericano de Integracion Economico

WEB site -

Aim - to promote economic integration and development.

Members - (5) Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua.

Nonregional members - (4) Argentina, Colombia, Mexico, Taiwan.


Central African States Development Bank (established - 3 December 1975)

note - acronym from Banque de Developpement des Etats de l'Afrique Centrale

WEB site -

Aim - to develop closer economic cooperation and integration.

Members - (9) Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, France, Gabon, Germany, Kuwait.


Benelux Economic Union (established - 3 February 1958 / effective -1 November 1960)

note - acronym from Belgium, Netherlands, and Luxembourg.

WEB site -

Aim - to develop closer economic cooperation and integration.

Members - (3) Belgium, Luxembourg, Netherlands.


Banco Interamericano de Desarrollo

see (IADB) Inter-American Development Bank.

Big Seven

Big Seven (established - NA 1975)

note - membership is the same as the Group of 7

Aim - to discuss and coordinate major economic policies.

Members - (7) Big Six (Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, UK) plus the US.

Big Six

Big Six (established - NA 1967)

note - not to be confused with the Group of 6

Aim - to foster economic cooperation.

Members - (6) Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, UK


Bank for International Settlements (established - 20 January 1930 / effective -17 March 1930)

WEB site -

Aim - to promote cooperation among central banks in international financial settlements.

Members - (42) Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, South Korea, Latvia, Lithuania, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Slovakia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, UK, US, Yugoslavia (suspended) pending

Members - (2) Croatia, Macedonia


Banque Ouest-Africaine de Developpement

see (WADB) West African Development Bank


Black Sea Economic Cooperation Zone (established - 25 June 1992)

WEB site -

Aim - to enhance regional stability through economic cooperation.

Members - (11) Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Georgia, Greece, Moldova, Romania, Russia, Turkey, Ukraine

Observers - (7) Austria, Egypt, Israel, Italy, Poland, Slovakia, Tunisia